Josephine's reisblog

Beautifully green Sri Lanka

Abuyowan!

Ai ai, it’s been awhile since my laste update. This time not from snowy Lebanon but from sunny Sri Lanka. Sunny it is.. I can tell having a tomato-coloured face and equally-coloured arms and legs. Every day the sun enlightens this warm, friendly, green and relaxed country that has been my home for the past two months. It’s been fascinating, relaxing but most of all adventurous. From searching for an Englishman lost in the forest to motorbike-tours through crowded cities and along deserted beaches. Oh how lovely it’s been!

But let’s start at the beginning. In January I flew from Beirut to Negombo, a city located in the east of Sri Lanka. Like on my way to Lebanon, I met some local people on my flight. This time four friendly smiling Sri Lankan women who spent their time in Lebanon working as maids. As many Sri Lankans they left their familiar home and (in some cases) their family to earn a living far away from home. Facing difficulties such as extreme long working days and a lack of freedom (as their passports are often taken by the host) I was impressed by their brave decision. Arriving in the country our ways separated, they were going home while this time it was me arriving in a completely strange country to start a new adventure.

That adventure starts with being picked up by Wietse, a Dutch guy living in Sri Lanka whom I met in Beirut. Together with Sri Lankan Yohan he owns a guesthouse called Villa 107 located in Crazy Kandy. After the intense experiences in Lebanon, it sounded like a good idea to work in a guesthouse for a bit. So I did! For a month I made breakfast in the morning, cleaned rooms in the afternoon and hung out with the guests in the evening. Perfect way to travel cheap, and see and learn all about the country!

And in my weekends off I had time to explore the country.. I climbed Adam’s Peak - a pilgrimage of 5.500 steps, together with old Sri Lankan women, young couples with babies and fellow tourists. Ending up at the top, standing close to each other while seeing the sunrise together.. it was a magical experience! I also went roadtrippin’ by motorbike through Kandy and its surroundings. Drinking from a coconut while sitting on a rock in the middle of Mahaweli river. So nice! Oh and I did so many more things, I wish I could tell you everything!

And a month ago my next adventure started.. In Kandy I met my wonderful Portuguese travel buddy Raquel. After my time in Kandy we went together to the beaches in the South, both determined to become professional surfers (or at least, able to stand on the board for longer than two seconds). And so we did. The last month we’ve been working behind the reception of a beautiful guesthouse in Mirissa called JJs. JJ.. as if it was meant to be. In the morning we surf, in the afternoon and evening we work. No feeling like standing (nowadays more often than a few weeks ago) on a surfboard with the sun on your face and the Sri Lankan beach in front of you.

And of course there was also time for some adventures.. One of the weekends we spent in a fancy villa in Hikkaduwa with artists, guesthouse owners and fellow tourists. The music load, dancing around the swimming pool while drinking some real Sri Lankan Arrack. Again.. magical!

But adventurous Sri Lanka is almost coming to an end.. In exactly one week I will fly to Thiravandarum to travel around the South of India. It’s been almost ten years since I went with my little brother and parents, I’m curious how it will be this time.. but I’m excited!

For now still.. lots of love from beautifully green Sri Lanka,

Josephine

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!